kcnjamie

How to repair credit report if chared off debt is listed under OC and not collection?

Hi Everyone!

I am a newbie and have just started credit repair. I have been reading the site and just started looking through the forums so I still have a lot to learn. I know it's probably here somewhere, but so far in my research I haven't come across this answer.

Basically, the negative items on my credit report are either shown as original creditor charge-offs or collections. The majority of the collections are medical and have no connection to any of the original creditor charge-offs. So as one of the first steps, I contacted the original creditors for the charge-offs to find out where the debt is. What I found out is that most of the creditors have sold the debt to collection agencies. But the collection agencies are not listed on my credit report.

At this point I am not sure what to do to actually repair my credit. If I do anything with the collection agency, it will not have any bearing on my credit reports because they are not listed on there. Also, the original creditor information will still be listed on the report as negative because they have already charged-off the debt.

Am I looking at this the right way? What should/can I do to actually improve my credit report with this situation?

Thanks in advance for the help!

@kcnjamie

The first thing you should do is to dispute everything negative on your credit report.  

http://www.creditinfocenter.com/repair/Repair.shtml

The collections (non-medical ones) could show up on your credit report later.  I would keep a sharp eye lookout for them.  With the non-medical collections, you can still attempt to negotiate a settlement with them (if you have the cash).  Part of your settlement would be to agree to not report on your credit report in the future.  

Here is the guide to settling your debt with collection agencies (recommended for non-medical collections):