Not a credit case, but I am being deposed in a couple of weeks.

I was just wondering if anyone had any helpful tips, never been in a deposition.  I am not a party to the case, I am an expert witness for the defense.  I reviewed the particulars of the case, and wrote a report based on my expertise.

So the defense lawyer told me the other side does want to depose me, but didn't have a date, and that they had to come to me.  I know she will help me, but thought if any of you had any tips.  I think I just have to remember to take a breath before I answer anyting, and only answer the question, don't elaborate? anything else?

Expect questions that are personal and have nothing to do with the case. Hopefully the defense will provide an attorney to represent you. If they don't, request they provide one.

They will question your background, education, and credentials to be an expert.

Good.  Yes that is not a problem, the defense has my resume, I have certifications to show, and I have been doing this for 25 years. (not being an expert witness, but my profession)  It is something I do at least 15 times a day on any given day I am at work.

I just don't them want to twist my words or intentions, so I will stick to the question, answer after thinking about it, and not give a personal opinion, but only professional one. (I have personal opinions about the case, but might not be approipriate lol)

The lawyer for the defense will be present.  I understand she is not "my" lawyer, and my testimony should be objective, and non changing no matter what side I am testifying to.  I think that will be easy in this case, but you know how some lawyers try to make what you say into something different. :)  I read the depo the plaintiff's lawyer did on the defendant, and she tried all kinds of tricks on her.

You will try to keep it professional; they will try to make it personal. This is not court where they will stick to the issues of the case. They will make the deposition about you.