bambi

being sued, what's next?

Hello all.  I'm a newbie here, and very "dumb" about all of this.  This really seems to be a great forum, and I'm hoping I can get some help.

I'm being sued by FIA for a cc debt.  It's been 2 years since I was last able to make a payment.  So, once I was served, I answered the complaint.  Now a court date has been set, and discovery is in process.  I received a request for interrogories, a request for production of docs, and a request to admit.  I answered all,(not really much in my answers.)  I admitted to nothing, didn't produce any docs, and did my best on the other.  I also sent them a request for docs. 

My questions are, should I send them anything else?  What can I expect between now and my court date?  I feel so unprepared and "dumb".  Why does it seem that that if I don't respond within the 28 days they gave me for discovery, I will get a judgement against me, but if the attorneys for FIA don't respond in my time frame, nothing happens to them, and I have to continue requesting the info?    

I have not gotten any proof that it is my debt.  I did not ask for validation prior to the suit.  I'm nervous, like everyone else.

Thanks for any insight you can provide, it is greatly appreciated. 

Thanks for the info, that forum is a great tool, unfortunately I am beyond that point and have already submitted things in discovery.  So any info on my other questions?

What can I expect between now and my court date?  (scheduled for end of Aug.)

Why does it seem that that if I don't respond within the 28 days they gave me for discovery, I will get a judgement against me, but if the attorneys for FIA don't respond in my time frame, nothing happens to them, and I have to continue requesting the info?    

And  should I send them anything else at this point, or just "wait and see?"

When did you send them your request for production of documents and what did you ask for?