Allied Interstate (my old employer) is trying to collect on an old debt of mine. Help me stick it to them!

chuckd

Howdy. Long time no post. I'm a former regular-ish person around here. I used to work as a bill collector, and posting here to try and help people was my way of trying to atone for my sins. ;)

I got a collection letter today for a bank account that charged off back in 2006. Of course it was like $600 at the time, and now it's over $1400. Apparently LVNV (who has been calling and sending me mail) sold it or reassigned it to Allied Interstate. I was just going to let it die, but I looked on my credit and they are reporting it as a separate tradeline. Wrong dates, etc. So I want to pursue that, but I wanted to wait and see if they removed it when it *should* be removed. The letter I received today said the account was charged off in August of 2006, which means it should be off my credit bureau report in a month or so.

Here's my question: Should I call and tell them I will offer $100 in exchange for removal of all trade lines? Their letter offered a settlement amount of $300, so I was thinking $100 is a reasonable counteroffer. I was thinking of waiting until a day or two after the 7 year mark, pulling my credit, and then calling with that offer. Of course I wouldn't give them money without the agreement in writing, but I feel like if I point out they are violating FCRA by reporting incorrectly they might be more apt to make a deal. Plus, I hated working there and would really like to stick it to them in some way.

Thanks!

Chuck D, former miserable bill collector (now I work in IT, so I'm miserable in an entirely different way!)