Lates question

mattls

I’m sure someone may have asked this before but I've searched and was unable to find any information.

I want to make sure I’m correct before I keep pushing.  I have a credit account with a lender "Matco tools" as I used to be an auto mechanic. I've always made sure to pay the account on time. Recently money has been a bit tighter as I just started a new business and uprooted my family and moved with no income. Needless to say some bills had to be paid before others. According to my billing statement from Matco, my payment due date was June 18, 2013 but I was unable to pay until July 6, 2013. On July 9, 2013 I received a notice from creditkarma that I had a 30-day late hit my credit file. Needless to say it was the Matco account.

My understanding of the law is as follows.

An account isn't 30-day past due until the account goes 30-days from the statement due date. I called Matco to inform them that I would like the late removed with a big fat no. They told me that the 30 days starts from the last payment date with them. I informed them that made no sense as if I made a payment early say 25days early I’d be forced to make 2 payments in 1 cycle. Needless to say we went in circles for a few minutes before I had enough.

Am I correct with the understanding of the law on this? What’s the best way to go about having this removed? This one late docked my score 25 pts and would rather have them back.

Thanks for your help!

When did the account closed on june and july? when was due on june and july?

For what I see you are right, it seems by the dates you give that the account was not 30 days late, but I would like the info first.