Summons served in California, whats next?

Hello,

I've never done this before.

I am helping my mother and it is her debt. It is on an AMEX/CostCo Credit card. $25,000 balance. The account was opened 11/4/2003.

Just been served with a summons in California on July 9th 2013, LA County. Where do I go from here? How should I respond to the court and creditor? I believe this is the original creditor. The summons says Plaintiff: American Express, FSB. The attorney is Mihael & Assocc. There is no court date on the summons.

From what I read so far across the forums my choices are:

1. General Denial (to court)
  2. Discovery Letter (to Atty/Original Creditor)
  3. Request JAMS arbitration.

More Questions:

1. What should I do first?
  2. Do I need to do a power of attorney form if I’m doing all this for my mother? Or can I just do the foot work and have her sign documents?
  3. Can I go with JAMS if I choose arbitration? The 2009 contract states AAA and NAF, but no JAMS and it states  “…If a selection by us of either of these organizations is unacceptable to you, you shall have the right within 30 days after you receive notice of our election to select the other organization listed to serve as arbitration administrator…”.  But there is no other listing other than AAA/NAF. Should I find another contract so that JAMS is an option?
  4. Are AMEX contracts universal? This one was issued by Costco (a wholesale warehouse shopping center). Can I choose a contract that has JAMS? Acct opened 11/4/2001

If you suggest any action please send a link to sample form or link to official court form that I need to fill out.

Thanks. jasonblue

1. Who is the named plaintiff in the suit?
    American Express FSB, a federal savings bank

2. What is the name of the law firm handling the suit? (should be listed at the top of the complaint.)
    Micael & Assocc.

3. How much are you being sued for?
    $25,006

4. Who is the original creditor? (if not the Plaintiff)