last minute continuance two weeks before trial. plaintiff suprised

last minute  continuance two weeks before trial. plaintiff suprised but had sent me their trial briefs before court that day,  In the brief, they claim that the original/credit application or signed contract has been lost, and they sent me a ccp98 and request to use copies in liew of originals.  When and how do I object to this motion,  I am not good at speaking in front of judge,  I freeze.  Please help

dianne

In that  subpoena what do I include in it? Anything about ccp 98 or a statement, or do I subpoena documents too?  I only have a couple more day until my trial breifs are due and my motion in limine, what do I include in that since I have not subpoena'd them yet how do I include that in my limine motion?  Sorry need some sleep but can't seem to finish this project, kind of went blank, sorry.  And again thank you.  Dianne

This was written by ASTMedic, and should help you with the ccp98. 

So per CCP 98 you can attempt to serve the witness 20 days before trial at the address given. They address they give must be 150 miles at MAX from the court. If it's further it doesn't follow the code. They tried to give me 5 addresses to use for service but only one was in the 150 miles and that address was vacant (not good for them). So fill out a Subpoena and have the Sheriff Dept in the county where the address is listed attempt service. If they don't then use a process server. Be sure the server knows that service needs to be to the witness ONLY. It's the law. If service is unsuccessful then you can submit a Motion in Limine just before trial to get the CCP 98 affidavit tossed out. With no witness they have no way to back up the docs they want to use for evidence. I wrote this to help those after me understand why attacking the witness is so important.

And you should probably read his whole thread, It may help you with your MIL and other issues in your case that are similar.