Sign in to follow this  
ColdStone

Summoned by PRA in upstate NY

I am new to all of this, I have started reading and Ill admit I am confused. I seek guidance, basically where to start. I know that I need to "answer" the summons but as to the how and what to say currently escape me. I am hopeful the with your guidance and my own research I will be able to navigate through this storm.

On to the Questions,

1. Who is the named plaintiff in the suit?

Portfolio Recovery Associates, LLC

2. What is the name of the law firm handling the suit? (should be listed at the top of the complaint.)

Unknown, Signed by a "Catherine M. Hedgeman, Esq" Dated 9/30/2013

This looks them: http://www.hedgemanlaw.com/

3. How much are you being sued for?

$1200.00+

4. Who is the original creditor? (if not the Plaintiff)

GECRB/Amazon

5. How do you know you are being sued? (You were served, right?)

Wife was served the summons (for me)

6. How were you served? (Mail, In person, Notice on door)

Summons served in person (to my wife as stated)

7. Was the service legal as required by your state? Process Service Requirements by State - Summons Complaint

Yes - Called Court to confirm summons

8. What was your correspondence (if any) with the people suing you before you think you were being sued?

None

9. What state and county do you live in?

New York State, Albany County

10. When is the last time you paid on this account? (looking to establish if you are outside of the statute of limitations)

Feb. 13th 2012

11. What is the SOL on the debt? To find out: Statute of Limitations on Debts

Feb. 13th 2018 (6 Years in NYS)

12. What is the status of your case? Suit served? Motions filed? You can find this by a) calling the court or B) looking it up online (many states have this information posted - when you find the online court site, search by case number or your name).

Summons only, no Motions filed