Razor Capital suing - NO DUNNING LETTER first!

Hi, this is my first time posting. Although I am somewhat familiar with debt collection/validation procedures, I am NOT so savvy in the summons - we're-suing-you procedures. XhelpX

I was served a limited, civil summons in person eight days ago saying that the Plaintiff, Razor Capital LLC, (represented by Nelson & Kennard) is suing me for just over $2000 for a debt that they claim that I owe to GE Capital Retail Bank.  I have been getting voice messages from Nelson & Kennard for the past couple of months (I did not call them back), but I have never received a dunning letter or any other kind of correspondences from either Razor Capital LLC or Nelson & Kennard.  I called Nelson & Kennard and recorded the call in which I told them immediately, and they told me that they had sent me a demand letter on April 3, 2013.  I keep maticulous records and would have requested validation right away if I had received anything from them!  This account was sent to collections three years ago to a different CA and when I requested validation from them, they did not respond; I never heard back from them.  This account is being reported by only the OC on my CR.

My question:  Is there an FDCPA law that requires CA's/Attorneys to send a demand letter to an alleged debtor more than one time before they just go and try to sue someone???  Also, my name is on this summons, but my address isn't, is this normal?

I am going to the court (15 miles away - ugh, there's a superior court 2 miles from me!) on Tuesday (Nov. 5) to get the appropriate forms that I need to file my answer.

Thanks again!
Jo

Hi, this is my first time posting. Although I am somewhat familiar with debt collection/validation procedures, I am NOT so savvy in the summons - we're-suing-you procedures. XhelpX