Small Claims Court Summons from Unifund Corp

Hello, I live in Massachusetts and have received a statement of small claim and notice of trial for a credit card debt that has been sold to a JDB.  The debt is within the SOL and the plaintiff's claim info is filled out correctly and the amount demanded falls within the small claim limit.

My defense is that I have no knowledge of this debt, of the amount being demanded, and most importantly I have no knowledge of the JDB that is submitting the claim.  My question is - what specific proof does the plaintiff need to present in order to win a judgment?  Clearly just typing out the name of the OC, last four of the original account number, and last four of my social is not enough.  Any 10 year old hacker could dumpster dive for that info or just plain make some information up.  At least it's not enough if this was a typical court summons (not a small claim).  I would expect that legal documentation proving the amount owed, original statements, and legal documentation of assignment of debt from OC to JDB would be needed.  is this true?  what else would they have to legally produce and should I be requesting this proof prior to attending the hearing?

Thank you.

Roger

In Mass small claims no discovery is allowed unless you show good cause. Since it is a jdb that bought your account you will want strict proof from the plaintiff that they own the debt, if they present a receipt of a portfolio or an assignment of transfer, if that paper work does not specifically show that your account was in that portfolio, motion for a dismissal for failure to state a claim for which relief can be granted.

What counts are they claiming?

Probably either breach of contract, account stated or both. and maybe common counts as well.

If they claim breach then they need to cough up the contract, if they have no contract they have no claim for breach.