rshaney

Regarding multi-state SOL, which law applies?

Hello,

First of all thank you to everyone that has contributed so much to this forum, the more I read the more valuable all this information becomes.

I am very new to this and have been served and preparing my answer. Ihave a couple questions, really hope someone can help.

My first question pertains to the SOL. My suit from a JDB with original debt from BofA was filed in my state of residence, MN. The debt however originated from when I lived in CA. Being that the SOL is different for the two states and would make a huge difference in my case which state's law is the court going to use?

Second question is regarding lack of standing. Since this is a JDB and several years old and likely sold a couple times would using a lack of standing defense be a good idea in my answer, or as I have read in a couple of threads should I save it for later? Lastly, if I do use it in my answer how do I phrase it, I know that is a basic question but I can't seem to get an answer?

Thanks in advance for any and all help.

Generally speaking the SOL that applies is the state that you're being sued in, which should correspond to your current residence. Some states have borrowing statutes that allow you to use the SOL of the state that the creditor is from, it's something that's listed in the credit agreement. This is particularly useful if that state's SOL is shorter. 

Thank you Spikey, so if I am reading this correctly the CA SOL which is shorter and would be time barred is out the window on this?

Aside from that I do not have the agreement yet and was planning on asking for that during the discovery, but from what I understand it could have reference to using Deleware law, which again would make this time barred by their laws as well, so maybe that's an argument?  

Any advise on the lack of standing defense? Thanks again.

Yes, CA SOL is out the window, unless you moved back to California.