What would you do if you were me (looking for opinions on debt situation)

MonkeyWrench

I wanted to get some opinions on my situation.

I'm a NYS resident. I owe about $50K in a combination of credit card debt (Citi, Chase, Discover, HSBC, Bank of America) and a personal loan through a local credit union. There is really no chance that I will be able to pay it off or even settle as even settlement would add up to an amount I am not able to produce. As of now, all of this debt is several months old without payments on my end.

On top of that I have about $20K past due child support (which through personal agreement with ex I continue to pay in smaller amounts than stipulated by court, but nonetheless official amount overdue is about 20 grand)

Being up to my neck with day to day life and helping take care of my child I really have no room for playing endless games with the creditors. I have read up on the subject as much as possible and responded to some CAs with DV. I'm ok with filing bankruptcy on the credit cards and the loan (provided that I can) as I don't own any assets. Would filing chapter 7 be the best option here? After researching this board and other places, I get the feeling that being dragged through arbitration or whatever else may be over my head. If I start going that direction and figure that it is too much, can I still file chapter 7 at some later time or am I closing that option for myself if I take steps with arbitration or whatever other approaches? 

Any suggestions appreciated

Thanks

@MonkeyWrench - I would try avoiding filing bankruptcy unless you absolutely have to.  Absolutely have to in this case would be if a creditor tries to sue you or you feel you would lose in court.  If you file a BK, your credit will be tough for 10 years.  If you don't file, it will be 7 years that your credit will be affected.