Need Some Advise Getting Collections Removing From Credit Report

Axel

Im new to this game I hope this is the right section.

I have an issue here that I can't seem to figure out.

Let me explain, My wife’s credit was looking great till about July when me moved (From PA to SC) We couldn’t understand why the electric co wanted a deposit, we shrugged it off and just paid. Since her credit is not that established we just thought it must be the company they were using to check that was giving a false positive for bad credit/no credit...

We are wanting to buy a house soon so getting things in order, we checked her credit a about a week ago; This is when we see there are two collections that have been reported (They are both small $20 odd and $200 odd ) The thing is we didn’t receive any bills for these or any thing from the CA...

Since the first we hear about this is it being reported as a collection on her credit report, I believe there is a massive error here..

I was going to pursue asking for a delete for payment ( http://www.creditinfocenter.com/debt/pay-for-delete.shtml )

The first step is to send a Letter to Validate Debt ( http://www.creditinfocenter.com/forms/sampleletter9.shtml ) This seems to assume they have phoned or at least sent a letter saying that the money is owed.

I do recall getting one letter but it looked like a scam it was just a letter sating you owe us $x.xx with no info about what it was, who they were or who they were collecting for etc. (Not even sure we still have it, It really looked like a scam or spam at least; so not sure it was even from either of these two.)

My question is that if we were not given the opportunity to pay these before they went into collections or told that they were about to go into collections and then were not even alerted to the fact that they were in collections, We had to find that out months after when we checked her credit report...