JohnDeer

Sued by PRA in Illinois. What's the next step? Some questions.

Hi everyone,

A summons was left for me today sticking out of my apartment mailbox. There is a space that says "Date of service (To be inserted by officer on copy left with defendant or other person)" which is blank (since it wasn't left with a person at all). Is that an appropriate way to be served? There are also two copies of the top sheet (the YOU ARE SUMMONED one).

The lawsuit is from PRA and is regarding a credit card account that they apparently bought from GE Capital Bank/Gap. The complaint has my name and the county I'm a resident of, a statement saying that I opened a charge account with ge capital bank agreeing to make monthly payments, a statement saying PRA is "the successor in interest of said account... having purchased said account... in good faith and for value", a statement saying I did make purchases and charge the account but failed to make payments and the balance (>2500) "(See Client affidavit as Plaintiff's Exhibit No. 1)" and lastly a statement that the plaintiff declares me to be in default and demands payment of balance.

Then there is "Exhibit 1" an affidavit from Virginia (I'm in IL?) signed by a notary public that "affirms" 6 points: 1 she is competent to testify, 2 she's an authorized employee of PRA and authorized to make statements on behalf of PRA about the records transferred to them from GE Capital Retail Bank/Gap which have become integrated into PRA's business records. 3 according to the records the account and all proceeds are owned by PRA, all of the banks interest in the account having been sold, assigned and transferred in 2012 and saying PRA has been assigned all of the banks original authority to do and perform all necessary acts for settlement. 4 that according to the records there was >2500 (edited exact amount) due (with the last 4 digits of the original account number) and owed as of 2011 and the last two aren't really relevant info to this post.