SOL Help

DMW76

Hello All,

Can someone please direct me as to where I can find information on sending letters to the credit bureaus due to derogatory reporting being over the SOL?

I pulled my credit and all were over 6 years and in Texas SOL is 4 years.

I am new to all this and did not find it in the newbie stickies, all the letters were directed to the actual debt collectors. I believe I can have some on the items dropped simply from the age of them.

Thank you,

• Like 1

Guest usctrojanalum

Statute of Limitations is a how much time a creditor has to sue you in Court to collect on a claim.  Has nothing to do with credit reporting.  Those will stay on your records for 7.5 years.

Statute of Limitations is a how much time a creditor has to sue you in Court to collect on a claim.  Has nothing to do with credit reporting.  Those will stay on your records for 7.5 years.

THIS. The length of time that a creditor can report is unrelated to the length of time that they can sue. And, if you have derogatories that are that old, they aren't affecting your credit scores that much, anyway. What you have done in the past 24 months matters a LOT more to the CRAs and FICO than what you did 6 years ago.

Thank you everyone who posted, and yes I did some research last night that clarified the difference between the SOL and the time the credit bureau can report it. I did read where the companies you pay the monthly fee to are helpful in situations like mine due to the fact they send multiple letters on account that are aged and can be successful in having items removed. I understand you said it wouldn't affect my score much but ideally I ma only looking for a 15 to 20 point rise.

Would it affect my score at all if I could have some items removed?

Again thank you very much for your help.

I have a question about SOL in Florida.

I have done reading on this and now I am so confused.