Sign in to follow this  
small fry

What is needed to remove a JDB's collection effort from your credit report?

Following a dismissal, (with or without prejudice) of your case before trial, or following a trial ending in a judgement in your favor, what did you need to do to get the JDB's collection effort removed from your credit report?

And how long did removal take following the dismissal or the judgement in your favor?

I'm not a lawyer, but I'm going to say unless your have a court document specifically stating the debt is NOT yours, there's little you can do to get it removed from your reports...unless the DOFD with the OC was more than 7 yrs ago.

• Like 1

Following a dismissal, (with or without prejudice) of your case before trial, or following a trial ending in a judgement in your favor, what did you need to do to get the JDB's collection effort removed from your credit report?

And how long did removal take following the dismissal or the judgement in your favor?

What @willingtocope said.  The level of proof for court vs. the level of proof for reporting to the CRAs is entirely different.  Technically the burden of proof in court is supposed to be much higher but that isn't always what the courts go by which is a different soap box.  

Unless the court ruled that the debt was not yours or specifically said you do not owe it then a dismissal is not leverage to get the debt removed from a CR.  

So, in order to have the JDB removed from your credit report, you must win at trial. Forcing the JDB to dismiss their lawsuit, either with or w/o prejudice, won't be enough.

Is that correct?

The difference between these two outcomes is worth thinking about. It might change the strategy for some of us. 

Let me put it this way.  A win at trial is something you can use as leverage...either with the CRAs or in your continued legal action against the JDB.  But, even then its not a slam dunk.