Being sued in Michigan

@bmc100

Hello bmc100.  First of all, thank you in advance for all of the information you've posted throughout this forum. This is my first time being in this situation so I have no experience with these types of matters.  I've been served with..

a complaint (complaints listed below),

a "Statement of Account" which has my name/address, a reference to the OC as "issuer", the JDB as the "assignee", a partial account number, a balance at purchase of xxxx, a bogus payment and an amount owed of yyyyyy.  Note:  Amounts xxxx and yyyyyy are amounts I've never been documented as owing an OC.

There's also an affidavit from the JDB (affidavit info below).  

I've been trying to read up since receiving the summons and a lot of what I've read say to answer the complaint.  I just found your thread and was having trouble understanding whether or not Answering the summons was needed along with the Motion to Dismiss or if the Answer isn't necessary once I file the motion.  Here's my info.  Please excuse me if I haven't provided the info you need to help me.  Thanks.

Complaints

Plaintiff's predecessor in interest is OC

Plaintiff's assignor allowed defendant to charge goods on open account upon defendant's promise to pay

Upon info and belief, defendant has possession of agreement 

Plaintiff's assignor sent statements to defendant who did not dispute charges within a reasonable time

Plaintiff and its predecessors have performed its obligations under terms of the agreement

Defendant has not paid the balance despite Plaintiff and Plaintiff's assignor demands for payment

Defendant is now indebted to Plaintiff over and above all legal counterclaims in the amount of xxxx. See attached documents which evidence plaintiff's assignment.

Affidavit (which is 2 months stale)

I am competent to testify