I need help ASAP

I've been served a summons from Patenaude & Felix a junk debt buyer but it has no case number and it hasn't been filed with the court yet because I have been checking. I thought I could do this myself but I'm lost and overwhelmed and just feel sick and want to give up. I want to file an answer and a notice of appearance but I'm scared I'm going to miss my chance to add my defense or do something wrong. Can someone help me please? I need to have these done by Monday. I'm not a lawyer I can't afford a lawyer and I'm struggling. I've looked for court forms and can't find any I can type my info into and print. I live in washington state.

@Kendyll28

@willingtocope

Here's the Superior Court rule for the commencement of an action.  If you're not in Superior Court, you need to contact your clerk of court to see if this rule applies to your case.

RULE 3                                                
                   COMMENCEMENT OF ACTION                                        

(a) Methods. Except as provided in rule 4.1, a civil action is               
commenced by service
of a copy of a summons together with a copy of a            
complaint, as provided in rule 4 or by filing a complaint. Upon written          
demand by any other party, the plaintiff instituting the action shall pay        
the filing fee and file the summons and complaint within 14 days after           
service of the demand or the service shall be void.

I'm in Washington, know what you are going through.  Which court is the summons for?  Since the summons is not yet filed with the court, you'll only need to send your answer to the law firm. They'll likely fold if they see you're willing to fight. I've also sent you a PM.

Pickles

• Like 1

@BV80

Just so I understand you clearly I was served the summons on a Sunday. That Monday counts as day 1 correct? Then 14 days including weekends they have to file? What if the 14 day is a weekend? Do they have until the next Monday?