tallguy

Pay for Deletes?

I have been reading that if it comes to the point where I have to settle with the collections agencies I should negotiate a pay for delete, rather that paid in full or some other jargon like that.

However, I have been researching and Ive heard from some others say that it's technically illegal and a lot of them wont agree to this. Is this true? Because one source says go for it and another says it doesnt work and its better off to just let the debt sit on your report because merely settling the debt won't do anything beneficial for your credit score.

I'm new to all this so thanks for all your help.

If the debt is with an OC probably not. If its with a JDB then maybe.

Just be careful because many people end up in a  much worse situation trying this. Any agreements you make should be in writing and always have a legal professional look them over. 

Most you can hope for is a paid in full on your CR. That, or the balance sold off to another JDB and then you go again along with the ole 1099-C.

So basically I want to dispute every negative account with the bureaus first. If the bureaus can't validate it with the creditor than I am good on those ones and they are removed. If they do legitimize the account I am going to have to wheel and deal with the collection companies to try to get the lowest settlement while obtaining a pay for delete. I'm not sure how hardcore the guys Im dealing with are.  Worst case, I negotiate a lower settlement with paid in full or something like that on the report?  But that wont really do anything really that substantial to my score so I am going to hope the bureaus take care of it right off the bat. If they don't I guess I have to play the waiting game and wait for my score to climb by paying all my bills on time, maybe get a few secured credit cards and keep optimal balance percentages, And possibly dispute a few inquiries?