Sign in to follow this  
moik

Lis Pendens,Answer, and "Hardest Hit" Funds

Ok so I have a lis Pendens,complaint, etc that I need to answer.  I'm in SC. FHA mortgage.

My new "common law" wife has enough money in 401k to help me out if need be.  I'm currently working with SC Mortgage help to try to get funds.  I'm a commission only salesman and haven't made much money in the past few months.  I have 4 deals pending and should be ok in a few months but I'm at about month 8 without paying.  

I'm needing to prepare an answer asap.  I'm working with SC legal services for the SC mortgage help, but they can't help with the answer...Is there a thread or page somewhere with some "basic" responses as I just want to buy time and not give an automatic judgement. SC legal services stated they needed the documents and I was under the impression that they would handle this part, being attorneys but that wasn't the case.  

The date it was filed/stamped was Feb 19th. I have 30 days to answer so I need to do something by Thursday if I'm not mistaken or would it be Wednesday today?. It says "non exclusive of the day of service. "  

I don't really want to refute or fight anything just give an answer.  I can type out the complaint if need be, it's kinda long.  

And does anyone have any experience with the Hardest Hit funds?  I'm self employed and had a slump in income.  I should be alright later this year but this sucks for now.  

This forum seems pretty slow but hopefully I can get some replies.  I'm a member here by another name. Can't remember it now and had to create a new log in.  I received good help here a while back on some credit card issues.  

Thanks.  

I'd start by calling plaintiff attorney and see if you can get 15 day extension to answer.  I have some boilerplate defenses and responses in response to lis pendens that I could provide you

Check your state laws for the length of time you have to answer. Don't rely on what the party suing you says.