Renting a car without a credit card...

I haven't had a credit card in years and don't really want one, but I have my resume out all over the country and may need to rent a car on short notice if I get an interview.

How difficult is it to rent a car without a real credit card?  I have a debit Mastercard from my bank, but there is probably a way they can tell it's not an actual line of credit.

Should I just get a card with a small limit?  Or maybe a secured card?

I haven't had a credit card in years and don't really want one, but I have my resume out all over the country and may need to rent a car on short notice if I get an interview.

How difficult is it to rent a car without a real credit card?  I have a debit Mastercard from my bank, but there is probably a way they can tell it's not an actual line of credit.

Should I just get a card with a small limit?  Or maybe a secured card?

It will depend on the rental parent agency and the location policy.  If you go to a website of the major car rental agencies they all say that if they even do accept a debit card they will do a hard pull on your credit as well.  If you do not have literally perfect credit they will deny the rental.  

My primary motivation for getting a low limit car initially was exactly for the purposes of renting a car when I travel.  Keep in mind that even with an actual credit card they may put a hold for several hundred dollars on the card so make sure it is not a $300 toy card limit because a $100 rental combined with a several hundred dollar hold will also be rejected for exceeding the limit.

Good Info.  Thanks!  

What about an American Express?  That's the one card I would consider carrying.

AMEX is a charge card in many of their products and it isn't that it is worse or better but you have to have a rental agency that accepts the card.