CaliBabe85

Help! First time being sued = Midland Funding. Struggling Student in California!

Hello!

I am a 27 year old female student living in San Francisco, CA and I was served with a summons from Midland's attorney 1 week ago. This is my first time being sued and I need desperate counsel as I have absolutely no idea how to proceed!!

I am being sued for $1,500.00 for a credit card I opened in 2010. The original amount of the credit line was $1,000.00. My last payment was made in-store in April of 2011. I stopped paying my credit card because I left the country for 4 months, dropped everything to take care of a terminally ill relative. Upon arrival home, I sank into a deep depression which then led me to be negligent to any/all bills at the time, including my $1,000.00 credit line. I have not been successfully contacted by phone by collectors since 2012. I don't recall any of the conversations at that time, or if at the time Midland was handling my debt.

My problem now is that, since receiving the summons, I have called Midland from my new phone number and attempted to negotiate a payoff amount after reading a forum on another website. My initial and logical sense at the time told me to avoid court at all costs. I honestly DID NOT THINK THAT MY CHANCES OF FIGHTING THIS CASE AND WINNING WAS A REALITY, WHICH IS WHY INSTEAD I TRIED TO NEGOTIATE A LUMP SUM AMOUNT. The lowest they were willing to negotiate for was $1,350.00. They also offered me a monthly payment plan with $675 needed down. I do not have the money to pay this, I am a struggling student in my Senior year & I only make $950 a month. I AM IN EXTREME FEAR OF THE COURT GRANTING THE CREDITOR TO GARNISHING MY WAGES! I WILL NOT BE ABLE TO SURVIVE! PLEASE HELP!