Beach Phoenix

Lawsuit, Default Judgment(s).....where to begin? Need some advice please

Newbie here.  I have been reading all of the information on this site for several weeks now, and believe I now am "up to speed" enough to post here for suggestions and/or advice.

I also realize there is a basic list of questions I should repost (along with pertinent information) to get the ball rolling, but frankly I have so many issues to address, I will most likely need the assistance of the Moderator in determining which thread my posts/questions belong in.  I do know that I must address the legal issues first (like the default judgments) but after starting the ball rolling with those, I have other  "fish to fry" if I (we) are to better our credit situation.

Long story short - like most folks, DH and I both suffered job losses (1 month apart actually) in late 2008/2009 due to lousy economy.  Almost lost house, had car repossessed, and had to use credit cards to make COBRA payments and to pay basic living expenses.  Able to regain employment, but at nowhere near previous income levels.  Was advised by counsel (at the time) to stop paying the credit cards (which we did in 2009).  Took in terminally ill in-laws (both have now passed) DH had major health problem....life happens.  Discovered recently that DH has TWO default judgments against him, one discovered by accident (won't bore you with details) and one discovered when he was mailed a copy of a Subpoena Duces Tecum served upon the Custodian of Records for another banking institution who has NOTHING to do with the original creditor (Cap One).

He filed a Motion to Quash the subpoena, and the SDT was promptly cancelled by counsel for Cap One.  Presumably the original SDT was filed in order to attempt to gather info so they can collect on the Judgment, but when they saw what evidence we intended to introduce at the motion hearing, they very quickly cancelled the subpoena.