Request for Dismissal & Recouping my Costs

Is there anything I need to do as a defendant when I receive a copy of the Request for Dismissal from the plaintiff (besides have a celebratory glass of champagne!)?

Is it possible or even worth trying to recoup my costs for filing my answer and all of the things I sent to the plaintiff via CMRRR?

I'm still new to all of this, so keep that in mind with my reply.

Was it with or without prejudice? You might be able to file an opposition to their request for dismassal and request your own, with prejudice, and costs. I'm sure someone who knows a lot more than I do will be along shortly.

It's w/o prejudice, but I'm not too concerned. the SOL was 8/2013. 

I'm kind of exhausted from this case and am pretty happy they are dismissing it. 

Is there a simple way to recoup the costs or is it pretty labor intensive?

I'm now preparing my husband for his own case vs. PRA, too.

• Like 1

If the SOL has passed, then there is no reason for the dismissal to be w/o prejudice. They can/will sell the debt on down the line and you may find yourself back in the same court with a different person trying to collect outside the SOL.

Seems to be pretty common in Indiana. Here is an interesting read about cases that have been dismissed w/o prejudice.

http://scholarship.law.nd.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1124&context=law_faculty_scholarship

I just read a post by Calawyer stating that we can't make them change it to with prejudice if they file the request before trial, which they did. 

http://www.creditinfocenter.com/community/topic/312523-how-we-object-to-plaintiffs-request-to-dismiss-without-prejudice/#

S/he also added How to Claim Costs: http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/mc010.pdf

Thanks @calawyer!!

I am confused - is this from the case where the last payment was in 2011 and SOL in OP's state is four years? Not sure how this became an SOL issue.