Nelson & Kennard -- husband trying to help wife

Hi everyone, I'm new at this, so please excuse any ignorance on these issues. The short of it is, my wife received a summons from N&K over a debt from a closed Barclay account, and I/we have no idea what to do next. There are no dates or anything to appear in court.

Frankly, the amount she is being sued for isn't extravagent. My preference is just to pay the amount and put it all behind us. How do I do that? Can I simply go to the Orange County court and hand a check with the amount? Do I call Nelson and arrange with them? Whatever the case, I want the payment to end this debt.

Any advice would be helpful. Thank you.

A) This is not your debt, nor is it your decision. Any decisions made need to be made by your wife. SHE is the one who belongs in this forum.

B) There are a lot of Californians on this forum, with a wealth of information, should she decide to collect it. YOU cannot file papers for her. YOU cannot speak for her in court, so, while it's kind of you to want to help, it's actually counterproductive; SHE needs to learn enough about the issues to make an informed decision. The best thing that you can do for her is to figure out which of her jobs in your household you can take over while she's poring over legal doctrine and conferring with others on this forum.

C) M&K are a JDB.  The chances that they can prove any debt is actually owed to them is minimal.

D) You can't just go to the court and pay. The goal needs to be to prevent a judgment, because, no matter how small, that judgment will haunt her credit score for a LONG time.

• Like 1

Hi everyone, I'm new at this, so please excuse any ignorance on these issues. The short of it is, my wife received a summons from N&K over a debt from a closed Barclay account, and I/we have no idea what to do next. There are no dates or anything to appear in court.