Newbie Rebuilding

dee5351

I am just beginning to rebuild my credit as well as my husband's.  At the present time we have no credit cards at all.  I've seen two of our credit reports online - Transunion and Experian.  For some reason, Equifax says I have to request them by mail.    I have also registered at Quizzle, Credit Karma and Credit Sesame to see information although I understand the scores they furnish are not the "official" ones.

I am assuming the first thing to do in rebuilding would be to correct any errors in our reports.  Unfortunately we have a foreclosure on our reports which comes off in two years.  This was a home equity line of credit which now has a 0 balance.  Transunion is reporting this correctly.  However, both Experian and Equifax are reporting a balance.  They both somehow picked up the interest amount which was written off by Chase at the time of the foreclosure and are reporting it as the balance.  I have both a letter from Chase showing the principle balance at the time of the foreclosure and bank statements from before and after which show the principle balance and then a balance of 0 afterward.

What is the best way to correct this with Experian and Equifax?  I am assuming I will need to send copies of the information to verify the 0 balance on the account.  Should I begin by requesting a correction online or should I just do it by snail mail since I will need to send other documents as well?

Once those corrections are made, I think our next step is to apply for a few credit cards and get some reporting started.  One step at a time though!