rainsong

Being sued by Cavalry SPV for old Chase CC debt

I was served about a week ago and discovered that Cavalry SPV is suing me for a debt they bought from my old credit card with Chase.

The balance I'm being sued for is $5,450.53.

The account was charged off on 7/2/2010.

I lived in California when I opened the account (in '07), then in Washington state at the time of the charge-off, and I now live in Tennessee (and have for the past two years).

I understand that the SOL with Chase is 3 years because they're based in MD, but I'm not sure how my state of residency and my moves affect that timeline.

Trying to figure out my best course of action. I already had gone through the validation process with a different JDB on this same debt and that got rid of them. However, this is my first time actually being served/sued. I have had no correspondence with Cavalry yet.

My court date is November 21...so I need to figure out my response. I'd be willing to settle if absolutely necessary...I guess I'm trying to figure out if I have enough ground to stand on to fight it. 

Would greatly appreciate any advice/insight. Thank-you!

-----------

Here is what the Summons says:

State Of Tennessee, County Of Davidson

Plaintiff:
Cavalry SPV I, LLC as assignee of Chase Bank, N.A. (WAMU)

c/o Christopher Conner, P.O. Box 5059, Maryville, TN 37802-5059; Telephone (865) 984-1268

Defendant: 
(my name and address)

To Any Lawful Officer to Execute and Return:

Summon (my name) to appear before the Metropolitan General Sessions Court Of Davidson County, Tennessee, to be held in (courtroom and address), Nashville, Tennessee, on November 21st, 2014 at 8:45am, then and there to answer in a civil action brought by the Plaintiff(s) for: