NOOB Bankruptcy or debt settlement...I think I screwed myself already...

tweezer

Hi.  Thank you in advance to all the helpful and informative people here.  I'm a total nOOb and maybe started a little naive, so I'm trying to figure out how things work and what I should do (or not do).  I read this forum non-stop over the weekend and just joined the site this morning. 

I moved to FL in the middle of 2012 and became a resident late that year.  I live on disability & small pension, and have  tiaa/cref, annuity and life insurance, which I've been told can't be touched because they are from employment. I have a daughter in college who also is on disability (through mine).

I haven't decided what to do, bankruptcy or debt settlement or just waiting and paying longer...  There's a big 1215 day residency thing in FL or you are limited to 146K for home exemption.  I paid less than 146K for my house and the money came from sale of my old house in NY, so it probably isn't an issue for me, even though the property appreciated (a lot).  Nonetheless my gut tells me to wait until I'm past this 1215 day residency requirement, so that the trustee doesn't start going over my case with a microscope or auditing me.