Sign in to follow this  
SeattleSlew

Should I pay this judgment in full or try to settle?

-

Hello,

I'm new to this forum but I'm very impressed how helpful everyone is.  I'm hoping I can get some advice from some of the experts here.

As a real estate agent, I ran into trouble in 2008-2009 and had to give up paying on some credit cards to take care of other family needs. 

One of those credit cards, a Disover Card, got a summary judgment against me on 7/6/11 for the principal of $9165.78 as well as the filing fee of $230, the service of process for $79.50, the ex-parte of $30 and the attorney's fee of $500 for a total of $10,005.28 and interest accrueing at 12% per annum.  They were represented by Krista L. White and Associates in Snohomish County, WA.

Though I was served papers, I was ignorant to the process and didn't attend the hearing.  

In 2010, they totally cleaned out our main bank account of nearly $1000 which I believe is illegal.  I don't think they can take everything out of your bank account.  Then, last year they tried to garnish my wages, which they did for a month, before my employer figured out the can't garnish wages for independant contractors.

Now, they've put a judgment lien on a rental property that I own and would like to refinance.  The lender won't refinance the property with the lien on it.  I would also like to buy a home in the next couple years, and I don't think I'll be able to with the judgment.

A couple months ago, I received a letter from Suttell, Hammer, & White in Bellevue, WA saying that Discover Bank has now retained their firm to collect the debt owed.

So, is Discover Card still involved or do the attorneys now call all the shots?  My question is, would Suttell, Hammer, and White ever consider a settlement offer in a case like this or will they always hold out for the full amount?