lilacj333

Debt was with CA now with OC, how do I negotiate settlement?

I graduated with my MS in September of 2013, received my degree confirmation and thought all was well. December of 2013 I received an email from my former university saying I had an outstanding balance for a fall quarter class that started in October (remember, I graduated in September??) I contacted the school and after speaking with several representatives I was informed that I had been on auto-registration while in my program and somehow the system did not pick up that I graduated and registered me for another course. At that time I was told to contact the business office to discuss an arrangement. which I did. I offered to pay $1000 and set up payment arrangements for the remaining balance with a condition that my transcripts would be released...the said no, only payment in full. My degree requires a license which requires original transcripts...I am okay now but cannot advance or work to my full potential (and pay rate) until this is settled. I won't go into detail but as I am sure many can relate to life happens and I have struggled coming up with the full amount...