Sign in to follow this  
LegalTender

2015 Legal Climate: Midland and New York

I’m new to the collection environment and trying to get a feel for what the present state of litigation with Midland as an adversary, is like in New York.  I recognise there are no crystal balls and furthermore that litigation, especially trials, will always involve uncertainty and risk, and that unanticipated events can occur with even superb attorneys ... perhaps even moreso for pro-se litigants.

That being said, it would be useful for myself and those in my shoes to get some current feedback from those who are presently in litigation, have recently concluded litigation, and/or are intimately familiar with the current state of affairs. I’m especially interested in NYS/NYC as there’s been recent court reforms passed regarding lawsuit filing requirements that impact litigation of consumer debt cases. Additionally, I assume that NYS/NYC statutes and court procedures differ enough from other states so as to make litigation advice from other states often misleading or inapplicable. 

Insofar as I have neither a professional affiliation with the legal system or a deep history with monitoring consumer debt collection practices, I’m for the most part completely ignorant regarding what current trends are being implemented in the debt collection scene and in the courts. For example, I do not know the practical impact of the recent court reforms passed in NYS: if and how they have managed to cool the heels of JDBs’ practice of easy victories through default judgements, trial successes with robo-signed affidavits and/or minimal or poor quality evidence, and other issues … and whether or not this has altered the JDBs’ business model, and if so how it has altered the manner in which JDBs now strategize litigation in NYS/NYC.