Listen, I am not a lawyer and I am not an expert, by any means, but I've been reading this forum for over a year, and now that I have also had some experience in these matters, I feel compelled to make a few observations about (what seems to me to be) the general strategy that JDBs (junk debt buyers) use, at least in California.

1st – The JDBs depend upon the fact that most defendants are not going to answer the complaint filed against them, which allows the JDB to receive a default judgement, winning the case, and allowing the JDB to then proceed to garnishing the defendant's wages. 

2nd – If the defendant does file an answer, the JDB's attorney will attempt to trick the defendant into admitting guilt or into making an error when responding to discovery requests, which the attorney will use to win their case.

3rd – JDB's attorney sends the defendant a CCP 98 (affidavit in lieu of live testimony) that will allow JDB to enter as evidence any documents attached, unless the defendant subpoenas the witness listed in the CCP 98 and files an objection to the CCP 98.

4th – The JDB's attorney, almost always, knowingly lies on the CCP 98 when they say that the witness will be available for service for the 20-days prior to the court date at an address within 150 miles of the court.

It has been my experience, and it seems to me that in most cases filed in California, that a defendant has an excellent chance of getting their case dismissed if they simply follow the guidelines provided by ASTMedic in his topic: How I beat Midland in California.  In addition, since ASTMedic's case, there have been two excellent cases that provide even more case law to use against the JDBs' strategy: Target v. Rocha and CACH v. Rodgers.