Hi guys,

I need some urgent help with this case. I am not a lawyer and thus quite scared of what is happening.

Few days ago i received a letter from a legal aid stating that I was the defendant in a lawsuit case (credit card debt).  I used the case number they gave me and checked, and indeed there is a lawsuit against me.

Today, about 10 days later, I find that:

09/10/2015 PROOF OF SERVICE OF SUMMONS AND COMPLAINT FILED. SERVED AS
TO (XXXXXX, YYYYYYY).

but i never received anything!!!! and my wife, who has lost her job is at home all day and she never got anything!!!

What should i do??? Who has received my papers? How am I supposed to defend myself if I do not know what's in those documents? (I do not have the money to go to court, the gas is way too expensive for me).

Also, I live near Altadena (CA), and the closest courthouse I think is in Pasadena (CA), why would they file in Chatsworth (CA)?

Please somebody help

just check that docket daily and make sure they don't have that it was served to you.  It will tell you when they say you are served.  Noting to do but wait until they get around to serving you.  If it is in chats-worth, you can start studying up on a motion to dismiss for improper venue.  They need to sue you in the court near your home.

Once you are served, we will walk you through the steps.  You will have 30 days to answer the suit once it is served.

Well your choices would be

1.  go and get a copy of the summons, serve yourself, and then answer it with a motion to dismiss for improper venue.

2. Call the attorney of record tell him you notice there is a suit, but you were never served, and arrange for service.

3. Let it go, where they will eventually get a default judgement, and then file a motion to vacate. (harder)

4. File a motion to quash service since it was not served to you.  But you would have to go to the court to file it, unless they will accept it by fax, you could call the court and find out.