ajearly

Critique my Texas Validation letter to CA

Attached is my rough draft of a DV letter that references the TEXAS FINANCE CODE, I've pieced it together from this and other forums examples, trying to cover all my bases so I don't end up screwing my chances of getting this collection removed. I would appreciate any advice to improve it that anyone can offer.

collection.docx

WAY WAY too much and replete with errors.  Try this:

To whom it may concern,

I, jane doe, was recently alerted by my credit monitoring service about a collection placed on my credit report by [creditor]. After review, I noted that your office is reporting an outstanding amount to the credit bureaus in the amount of $400.00 with the [account number]. 

As I am a Texas resident I am disputing this debt, invoking the Texas Finance Code 392.202 and requesting validation under Texas consumer collection law.

Regards,

ajearly

request full validation of this account through the use of competent legal evidence, which includes a contractual obligation to pay your organization the amount you have reported to the credit bureaus.

Neither the FDCPA nor Texas laws require this to fulfill DV.  ONLY if they sue you do they have to produce that kind of evidence.

In your return correspondence, include all documents associated with this account including but not limited to:

·         Agreement with your client that authorized you to collect this alleged debt.

·         Proof that this debt was legally transferred from the original creditor to you the collection agency and the date this transfer occurred.

·         Agreement that bears my signature where I promise to pay said original creditor.

·         Complete payment and or service history on this account including current balance, original balance and date of original default or non-payment of original creditor.

·         Name and address of original creditor