shawnb74

Newbie question on Collections! pay or not to pay

Hello all!

Newbie here..

Trying to get the score up, currently about 600or so. I have three collection accounts on there. Tried to dispute, came back verified and all ok (as in they belong to me). Contacted Portfolio with a Pay IN FULL for delete, they said they do not delete. Tried to email a higher up, no response yet. I guess my question is this... How many points will a score increase with a Paid in full VS a Settlement? I have the $ to pay them off, but want them removed from my credit report so my score increases.

I was looking around and thinking that in the long run, a Paid in Full would look batter to future creditors vs a settlement.

Thoughts, advice?

Thank you all so much in advance :)++  :)++

Hello all!

Newbie here..

Trying to get the score up, currently about 600or so. I have three collection accounts on there. Tried to dispute, came back verified and all ok (as in they belong to me). Contacted Portfolio with a Pay IN FULL for delete, they said they do not delete. Tried to email a higher up, no response yet. I guess my question is this... How many points will a score increase with a Paid in full VS a Settlement? I have the $ to pay them off, but want them removed from my credit report so my score increases.

I was looking around and thinking that in the long run, a Paid in Full would look batter to future creditors vs a settlement.

Thoughts, advice?

Thank you all so much in advance :)++  :)++

With the new FICO scoring model paid is as good as gone.  PRA has a hard line policy of NOT doing PFD so you won't get that from them.  Whether you pay them or not depends on how new this debt is.  If it is going to drop off in less than a year I would wait.  If it is several years or more paying it may be better while you show a good debt management and credit history to offset past problems.