Discover

Hello all, and I first want to apologize if this is being posted in the wrong place. If it is, please let me know so I can post elsewhere on the forum. Getting to the point, I believe Discover has just filed suit against me for a little under $3,000 dollars. I have attempted to contact them to no avail, and I'm rather confused as to what I should do at this point. Obviously I will contact a debt attorney, and see what if anything can be done. My question is if anyone else has been through this, and if so, did you let it lay and not respond, or take action? I've been reading that they will receive a default judgement if I just ignore the order, which can enable them to garnish wages, and seize assets. I am a colleg student working full time, and honestly I cannot afford a lawyer. Any info would be greatly appreciated, and taken into consideration.

thanks in advance 

13 hours ago, boeing256 said:

I have attempted to contact them to no avail, and I'm rather confused as to what I should do at this point.

Have you actually been served with the papers from the court or are you just receiving letters from bankruptcy attorney indicating a suit was filed?

My question is if anyone else has been through this, and if so, did you let it lay and not respond, or take action? I've been reading that they will receive a default judgement if I just ignore the order, which can enable them to garnish wages, and seize assets.

Yes, if you do nothing they will get a default judgment and can do all of those things in FL.  You at least answer the suit once you are served.

2 hours ago, boeing256 said:

Update - I called the attorney, they're pretty unwilling to work a payment plan out with me unless i pay around $616 up front. 

Any ideas?