Cielorina

"Newbie here – gurus URGENTLY needed! First court date for foreclosure this coming Tuesday after five months hospitalized in past year"

"Newbie here – gurus URGENTLY needed! First court date for foreclosure this coming Tuesday after five months hospitalized in past year"

CHICAGO, COOK COUNTY, ILLINOIS

Background: FIVE hospitalizations in the past 14 months -- the most recent of which was TWO MONTHS LONG. Financial situation dire. Formerly excellent credit along with prompt, in-full payments for all debts until September when I was unable to continue making mortgage payments.

Facts So Far:
7/16 - continued making mortgage payments. Got a housing counselor who initiated application process for Housing Hardship Fund, a federal grant/forgivable loan exclusively for paying back any unmet monthly mortgage debt & fees.

8/16 - continued mortgage payments. Telephoned Citimortgage while still current to explore options. I chose not to pursue loan modification or forbearance due to medical duress.

9/16 to present stopped making mortgage payments.

Regularly telephoned/responded to Citimortgage emails to let them know I'm pursuing Housing Hardship Fund to re-pay outstanding mortgage payments.

**No responses or contacts whatsoever to me or my housing counselor from Citi's assigned point person.

10/16 - Began receiving Medicaid

Began filling out application for SSI.

2/17 - 3/17
2-month hospitalization

After months of no replies, received a letter from a law firm representing Citi indicating my home in downtown Chicago, Illinois had been referred for foreclosure.

2/17 to present - never served a summons while in the hospital

Only recently told of my court info through Cook county public record, but I don't know how to look that up.

Didn't know anything about "Motion to appear & answer" within 30 days of foreclosure referral until a couple of days ago.  So I didn't execute that.

As Of Today:
Researched foreclosure timeline(s).