Smitten27

Midland Credit /Cooling Water filed a Civil Claim against me

This is my first time being sued for a credit card. It’s Midland Funding but Cooling Winter is representing them in this case. I was served papers , I due owe Jcpennys. I contacted Cooling Winter the attorney. I contacted this law group April 17, spoke to a person that is handling my account . We both agreed for a settlement pay off and I request to have this payoff sent to me by mail. I haven’t received a letter in the mail for the payoff. I contacted The attorney office again spoke to the person that handling my account she claims that she tried to call me because I’m refinancing my house and she received a note ? I’m like lady I don’t know what your talking about. All I know is that you were suppose to send me the settlement letter for JCPennys and I have no clue about no refinancing my home . Today I did file an answer to the court and noted  that I have contacted the attorney representing Midland Finding for a settlement of 1.073.00. However nothing was sent to my attention for the pay off a$$ of today. My response was submitted and the clerk said that I will receive a court day by mail. 

So do I need to proceed to call Cooling Winter back and aske for the settlement letter because the promise to pay is April 30th. Without the settlement letter I don’t want to send a payment and may wmd up paying more than agreed. 

Also the person at the attorney office file was not accurate they had my old address but when I was served papers by some random looking guy they have my correct address. 

Please let me know what I should expect next. 

I looked up the JC Penney credit card account.  It is Synchronicity.

@Smitten27   It is too bad you didn't post BEFORE you answered the suit.  You may have messed up your case a bit.  Hopefully you can fix things.