nvlzqz

Help! Cavalry SPV I, LCC is suing a broke college student!

Please help me, I have no clue how to respond! Cavalry SPV I, LLC is suing me for $3,369.87. My debt was bought from Citibank on 8/12/17. I'm not sure if it's verified. The evidence against me is a basic sale of account document (exhibit 1) and and old statement with a lesser balance of $2,671.00 (exhibit 2). I have never even spoken to anyone from this company! I'm a broke college student who has recently been laid off and can't afford this. I would highly appreciate any advice on how to move forward.

10 hours ago, nvlzqz said:

Please help me, I have no clue how to respond! Cavalry SPV I, LLC is suing me for $3,369.87. My debt was bought from Citibank on 8/12/17. I'm not sure if it's verified. The evidence against me is a basic sale of account document (exhibit 1) and and old statement with a lesser balance of $2,671.00 (exhibit 2). I have never even spoken to anyone from this company! I'm a broke college student who has recently been laid off and can't afford this. I would highly appreciate any advice on how to move forward.

You need to read your court's rules of civil procedure.  If you're in limited civil, read those rules.

Also, search posts by calawyer, RyanEX, and sadinca.  Hopefully, one of them will respond.

@RyanEX

@sadinca

• Thanks 1

@sadinca Thank you so much for the help! It looks like the complaint is not verified, I do not see that doc anywhere in the summons packet. I was just served last night 7/24 and it looks like it was filed/endorsed 7/11. I was served at my mothers house during dinner! Which is odd because I live on my own and have moved twice so the address on the paperwork is very old. The last payment on the alleged account was 10/11/16. Besides the old statement, everything that was attached is extremely generic and does not have an account number or my name on it.