Capital One vs. BC (Full Documents) - 2018 Credit Card Lawsuit

573dave

So I'm new to this. My girlfriend just got served by Capital One. I've been researching this site, and similar sites, and local court websites, and I'm overwhelmed. I'm wondering if someone experienced can help me.

Most of the information I am finding are defenses for third party collectors, or expired timelines, but I don't think any of that will work here. The affidavit is from a kinda third party (Capital One Services, LLC), claiming to be an affiliate of Capital One, but the suit itself is from Capital One Bank so I'm not sure that matters at all. They did not include any contract, customer agreement, or detailed purchases, but I don't even know what step one is. Do I file an "answer" to the "suit" stating I deny the claims in paragraphs 2-5 of the suit? Or paragraphs 3-4 of the affidavit? Do I file an answer at all since they served me with a court date? Do I file a motion for discovery? I'm very lost. When I say I, I mean on her behalf as she is terrified and wants to just let it default (which I know is the worst thing she can do). I also need to try to keep her out of the courthouse as she has pretty serious social anxiety and may just walk out when they call her name anyway, and again we lose. This is a small debt ($1,027) that I believe with minimal resistance they will walk away from, but she is unemployed so we don't have many options as far as settling.

Any assistance would be very helpful. Laws are applicable to the State of Missouri. Service date was 7/24/18. Court date is 8/20/18.

I have attached the "suit" here and on dropbox as a backup. Her name has been hidden for her privacy (even though it's public record).

https://www.dropbox.com/s/g9ay0tue46o9rfy/REDACTED%20SUIT.pdf?dl=0

REDACTED SUIT.pdf

7 minutes ago, 573dave said:

This is a small debt ($1,027) that I believe with minimal resistance they will walk away from