Okiemom

Motion for arbitration in oklahoma

So what would a motion for arbitration look like for Oklahoma? And the affidavit to attach to said motion? I need to look at filing one soon. but probably file an answer to petition for indebtedness from love Beal nixon

@Okiemom Do you know your court deadline to respond to avoid a default judgment against you?

Is the plaintiff an original creditor or debt buyer? Who is the original creditor?

Was a copy of the account agreement attached to the Complaint?

When was the last time a payment was made on the account?

Do you know if your rules require you to assert arbitration as an affirmative defense in your Answer, or the defense is waived?

56 minutes ago, Okiemom said:

So what would a motion for arbitration look like for Oklahoma?

(I am not a lawyer. IANAL) Fisthardcheese has a pinned thread in the Arbitration section of this forum. In it is a basic template of a motion to compel arb and stay the case. It is advisable to include the Oklahoma rules and statutes, and precendential court rulings as grounds and authority in your motion. The Oklahoma thread you first posted in has a draft motion and Oklahoma-specific info for you to research. 

Served 5/8, so filing my answer tomorrow, 5/28. Couldn't file today because of holiday and don't know if the holiday gives me an extra day or not. I was going to respond in a few days with the motion for arbitration after filing my answer if I could.