talha

How to negotiate medical collection account

Hi,

I have a pending medical collections account that I want to settle (eventually removal from the credit report) to allow me to negotiate better mortgage rates.

Q1. I am not good with verbal negotiation. can I write it to the collections agency or ask a relative to negotiate on my behalf?

Q2. How much (%) discount should I ask for?

Q3. any tips on negotiation

Thanks

6 hours ago, talha said:

I have a pending medical collections account that I want to settle (eventually removal from the credit report) to allow me to negotiate better mortgage rates.

If it is already reporting removal may not be possible.  Some CAs have a hard line policy against removing accurate information.

When you say "pending" do you mean it isn't reporting yet or it hasn't been sent to collection yet?

6 hours ago, talha said:

Q1. I am not good with verbal negotiation. can I write it to the collections agency or ask a relative to negotiate on my behalf?

All negotiations should be in writing.  Due to HIPAA laws the CA cannot discuss the account with anyone but you.

6 hours ago, talha said:

Q2. How much (%) discount should I ask for?

How old is this debt?  How much?  What kind of provider do you owe this too: doctor/clinic/hospital?  Did you use insurance and this is your out of pocket balance?

If you used insurance and this is your deductible, co-pay or co insurance you cannot get a discount off those amounts.  It is illegal rebating.

Pending is not the right word. all I am trying to say that my account has gone to the collections agency and I haven't paid it at all

Here are the details

• I have recently moved to the US and currently on a work visa, and I was new to the US health system
  • in August 2017, I took my son to the urgent care for head stitches. they told me that they would charge about $275 and if I go to ER, I will get better services, and they may not even charge me anything