Viking Collection Services

txtrouble

Hi,

I was wondering if anybody has dealt with or knows anything about Viking Collection Services. Homepage: http://www.vikingservice.com/

I have a Chase Mastercard that is now about 8 months deliquient. The balance is approximately $19,000. Weird thing was Chase only contacted me once or twice about a month ago, they'd continue to send statements but nothing mentioning it being past due (just a curiosity since I figured most cards step up the effort after a month or two of a missed payment).

Anyway, started getting calls from Viking along with a letter in the mail. I haven't spoken with them yet but plan on calling them soon. I did a little research and it appeared to me (at least from their website and limited info on other places) that they were not junk debt buyers. However, I called Chase today to try to work something out and they said "We appreciate it however we have already charged off your account and its with Viking." I called another time just to see maybe a different person would work with me, no luck. Does this mean that the debt has been sold to Viking? Or could Viking simply be collecting on Chase's behalf still?

Other question was if anybody out there has any experience with these guys. What I found on the net didn't sound too promising, a couple of complaints. They have been slightly harassing, have called my parents 3 times, and as I understood could only call once simply to locate me and could not call again unless they feel they may have new information. This was the span of about a week. I'm getting a call from a "Jeremy" now. For a while a "Eric White" was calling, then a "John Martin." Now Jeremy is calling, all from Viking.